StrokesPlus.net
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Roland  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2019 12:27:24 AM(UTC)
Roland

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Approved
Joined: 11/7/2018(UTC)
Posts: 14
Germany

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Hi,

my script for "Close" is just ALT-F4 - it works everywhere, except the desktop.

When I do the attached gesture on the desktop I see the orange info window of S+, but there is no action.
When I manually do ALT-F4 on the desktop I get the logout/shutdown/restart dialog.

It worked in the old S+.
Rob  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2019 7:44:48 AM(UTC)
Rob

Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Members, Administrators
Joined: 1/11/2018(UTC)
Posts: 340
United States

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 56 post(s)
I am not able to reproduce this, when I draw on the desktop using this script, I get the Shut Down Windows popup.

Code:
sp.SendModifiedVKeys([vk.LMENU], [vk.F4]);


In the default install, there's a Windows Desktop app created in the Applications section, which has some actions whose purpose are simply to ignore certain gestures as things can get weird if you perform certain commands oin the desktop window itself.

Can you confirm that the gesture you're drawing isn't matching one of those?

Roland  
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2019 8:29:28 AM(UTC)
Roland

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Approved
Joined: 11/7/2018(UTC)
Posts: 14
Germany

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Yes, I checked the „Windows Desktop“ app, and there’s no „Close Window“ action. („Close Window“ is also the name of the action that i see in the orange notification when I do the gesture on the desktop).

The problem is not consistent. Sometimes on the desktop all icons disappear when I do that action.
But I never get the shutdown dialog.

I still have the old S+ installed (disabled), can that cause problems?
Rob  
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 26, 2019 6:15:40 PM(UTC)
Rob

Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Members, Administrators
Joined: 1/11/2018(UTC)
Posts: 340
United States

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 56 post(s)
This is a difficult one, since I cannot reproduce the issue myself.

Perhaps you could export your settings and send them to me. Maybe there's something in there I'm not thinking about.
Also, what version of Windows are you running?
Roland  
#5 Posted : Tuesday, July 2, 2019 8:08:34 AM(UTC)
Roland

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Approved
Joined: 11/7/2018(UTC)
Posts: 14
Germany

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Here's my settings file.

ALT-F4 works everywhere and on the desktop it would open the shutdown dialog.

The gesture for ALT-F4 works everywhere (Outlook, Firefox, OneNote, Evernote, etc.)
But when I use the gesture on the desktop (orange notification displays "Global Action: Close Window") then only my Fences and all icons disappear.
When I do a ALT-F4 after that I get the shutdown dialog.

Here's the settings file:
Roland Settings File
Rob  
#6 Posted : Tuesday, July 2, 2019 8:17:30 AM(UTC)
Rob

Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Members, Administrators
Joined: 1/11/2018(UTC)
Posts: 340
United States

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 56 post(s)
Quote:
Fences

Ah, so it's closing Fences which is managing your desktop/icons.

I would say, make an application for Fences and use this script for the L / close window action:
Code:
sp.WindowFromClassOrTitle("Progman", "").SendClose();
Roland  
#7 Posted : Tuesday, July 2, 2019 9:24:40 AM(UTC)
Roland

Rank: Member

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Approved
Joined: 11/7/2018(UTC)
Posts: 14
Germany

Thanks: 1 times
Was thanked: 1 time(s) in 1 post(s)
Ok, cool, with the new action for Fences the Close gesture won't close Fences anymore...

... but also doesn't show me the shutdown dialog.

Is there a way to find out, which process receives a command from an action?

Rob  
#8 Posted : Tuesday, July 2, 2019 9:36:35 AM(UTC)
Rob

Rank: Administration

Reputation:

Groups: Translators, Members, Administrators
Joined: 1/11/2018(UTC)
Posts: 340
United States

Thanks: 5 times
Was thanked: 64 time(s) in 56 post(s)
Hmm, I wonder if Fences disables the desktop, perhaps Progman isn't there if Fences is managing it?

The code I gave would only send it to the Program Manager (Windows Shell), but if it's not present, nothing would happen.

The action.Window object is the parent window where the gesture started, but there are many properties and objects off of that. You can use Chrome to debug and step through scripts to examine the properties/etc, but it's a bit more of an advanced process which kind of requires programming experience to really grasp. Details in this post: https://forum.strokesplus.net/posts/t5028-Debugging-Scripts

The simplest way would be to do something like this:
Code:
sp.MessageBox(action.Window.Process.MainModule.ModuleName, "Process");
Users browsing this topic
Forum Jump  
You cannot post new topics in this forum.
You cannot reply to topics in this forum.
You cannot delete your posts in this forum.
You cannot edit your posts in this forum.
You cannot create polls in this forum.
You cannot vote in polls in this forum.