StrokesPlus.net
Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
randomConstant  
#1 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2022 12:11:55 PM(UTC)
randomConstant

Groups: Translators, Approved

Was thanked: 18 time(s) in 15 post(s)
Hi Rob

I was wondering if you could please share how the settings file is encrypted for S+ and which encryption algorithm is used to achieve that.

I'm no security expert but got a bit worried about S+ encryption since I am using this wonderful software for many private things, including auto mounting VeraCrypt containers, and the settings file contains passwords and other important data. I would like to avoid having S+ as the weakest link if possible.

I searched on forum and site but couldn't find any mentions, maybe this is the first discussion about it.

Thanks
Rob  
#2 Posted : Wednesday, January 26, 2022 3:01:52 PM(UTC)
Rob

Groups: Translators, Members, Administrators
United States

Was thanked: 419 time(s) in 356 post(s)
Below is the source code of the encrypt method.

Note that SALT is an internal value and password is conditional based on the intended action.

For the local file encryption, it uses the password you've defined - that password isn't transmitted to the S+ servers. While I'm also not a security expert, this is a quite secure method as it's using solid encryption methods and the password you have defined.

For synchronizing settings with the S+ server, your file is encrypted using the SALT and your forum username as the password - I made this decision to keep it simple for people to pull down a previous settings upload where they may no longer remember the password. They have to know the current forum username and password to be able to download the settings, but if they had access to be able to login to the forum - it wouldn't really matter since they could just export the settings to a file which is not encrypted.